Kelly, Sinema, AZ Delegation Members Urge Major Disaster Declaration for Arizona

Congressional delegation’s urging comes after state request, following monsoons that severely impacted communities in northern Arizona

U.S. Senators Mark Kelly and Kyrsten Sinema, and U.S. Representatives Tom O’Halleran (AZ-01), Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-02), Raúl Grijalva (AZ-03), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), David Schweikert (AZ-06), Ruben Gallego (AZ-07), and Greg Stanton (AZ-09) urged President Biden to issue a Major Disaster Declaration for Arizona following the monsoons in July that severely impacted Apache County, Coconino County, Navajo County, and nearby communities.

“The intensity of this monsoon season and anticipated future storms in the region have severely affected communities, with streets where children once played transformed into storm channels by concrete barriers and sandbags. Without federal support, these communities will be unable to recover,” wrote the Arizona Congressional delegation members.

The delegation noted the severe damage caused by the monsoons during July 22-24 and the urgent need for the federal government’s assistance. A Major Disaster Declaration allows Arizona to receive the critically necessary resources to assist recovery efforts in the region.

Click HERE to read the letter.