Kelly Joins Schatz, Senate Democrats in Announcing Amendment to Reaffirm U.S. Support for a Two-State Solution

Amendment reiterates long-standing, bipartisan consensus on need for separate, mutually recognized states for Israelis, Palestinians

Today, Senator Mark Kelly (D-AZ) joined Senator Brian Schatz (D-HI) and other Senate Democrats in announcing plans to file an amendment to the forthcoming national security supplemental package that reiterates long-standing U.S. policy in support of a two-state solution to the Israel-Palestine conflict.

“As we continue to support Israel’s security and the safety of Palestinian civilians, this affirms the United States’ long-standing position that a two-state solution is the best way to ensure an enduring peace for Israelis and Palestinians,” said Kelly

“The U.S. government has long supported a two-state solution as a path to a just and lasting peace in the region, and our amendment reaffirms our continued commitment to that vision,” said Schatz. “The horrors of the war on and since October 7th have underscored the fundamental reality that in order for both Israelis and Palestinians to live in safety and with dignity, they need to have distinct, inalienable, and mutually-recognized states that coexist side-by-side in peace.” 

Other senators supportive of the amendment are Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Tom Carper (D-DE), Patty Murray (D-WA), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Tina Smith (D-MN), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Peter Welch (D-VT), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Gary Peters (D-MI), Jack Reed (D-RI), Mark Warner (D-VA), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Bob Casey (D-PA), Chris Coons (D-DE), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Laphonza Butler (D-CA), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Ed Markey (D-MA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Angus King (I-ME), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Kyrsten Sinema (I-AZ), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), John Hickenlooper (D-CO), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), and Jon Ossoff (D-GA). 

The text of the amendment is available here