Congress of the United States Mashington, DC 20510

May 28, 2021

Hon. Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary of Homeland Security Department of Homeland Security 2707 Martin Luther King Jr Ave SE Washington, DC 20528-0525

Dear Secretary Mayorkas:

With continued success in containing the spread of COVID-19 throughout the United States, we are writing to inquire about the Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) plans regarding travel restrictions at U.S. land ports of entry (LPOEs). Non-essential travel restrictions have been in effect since March 2020, and border communities in our states are looking to DHS to communicate and collaborate with local stakeholders on a plan for returning to normal operations.

Since DHS first limited non-essential cross-border travel at LPOEs, these restrictions have been renewed on a monthly basis for the past 15 months. On October 1, 2020, we requested then Secretary Chad Wolf to develop and publicly articulate a detailed plan, including benchmarks for LPOEs to return to full operations. We have yet to receive a response to that letter. In light of the substantial progress the United States has made in distributing COVID-19 vaccines, we request DHS commit to a plan, benchmarks, and timeline for removing the restrictions to non-essential traffic through LPOEs.

We appreciate the hard work DHS has undertaken to protect Americans' health and safety during these challenging times. We remain committed to ensuring DHS and Customs and Border Protection have the necessary resources to secure our borders and protect the health of the public, as well as the Department's staff and officers. We look forward to continuing to work with you as we adjust to the changing conditions with regard to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sincerely,

John Cornyn United States Senator

Kyrsten Sinema United States Senator

Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

Mark Kelly

Mark Kelly United States Senator

Tony Gonzales Member of Congress

C

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Henry Lellar

Henry Quellar Member of Congress

Minhal I. M. Carl

Michael T. McCaul Member of Congress

A Kispotres

Ann Kirkpatrick Member of Congress